Skip to content

Customer Service – it isn’t a one way street!

September 3, 2013

Rant

When I went into business for myself, one of the most important things that I wanted to extend to my clients was outstanding customer service. We’ve all been the recipients of bad customer service so I wanted to do my best to ensure that my clients had a great experience with us from start to finish.

Part of the way we go about this is by keeping the communication with our clients open at all times. From follow up emails and phone calls to a courtesy sms the evening before so any anxious brides can rest easy that we will be there the next day.

However, some times no matter what you do, a client will do the wrong thing by you. Of course, I’m well aware that there are many business owners that have had far bigger customer issues than mine, but none-the-less I felt the need to share my experience this morning.

someecardAs always I sms’d my client last night confirming the time and address for this mornings booking. To which she responded with ‘yes see you then’. I then advised that given the distance I was travelling to get to her home and that it would be during peak hour traffic, that I would leave a little earlier to ensure I got there on time and may possibly be early, she again responded with ‘ok’.

So, this morning we got the kids up early and had booked them into before school care which is necessary when I work an early morning. My husband rushed them there on his way to work so that I could leave bright and early. 70 minutes later through peak hour traffic I arrived exactly on time.

I knocked on the door to be greeted with ‘I already have someone here’…..not even ‘Hello, who are you?’. I looked at her dumbfounded. I then said ‘but I messaged you last night and you confirmed we were set to go’, her response ‘oh I thought you were someone else’.

Clearly from what she didn’t say, she wasn’t telling the truth and as I read back over our past emails there was no way she didn’t know who I was.

I don’t generally rant or say negative things about my clients, but I’m so outraged by this client that I felt there was a message to share with everyone. There are so many small business owners out there doing everything they can to give their clients good customer service. If we don’t, social media, bad reviews and lack of word-of-mouth referrals can do you in. But what about the service provider that gets shafted by a client? What ‘bad press’ can we give them. None! We just have to suck it up. So, not only did I spend more than 2  hours travelling today which is costly in itself, I also have to cover the uneccesary child care fees, and of course the general disruption it caused my family this morning.

Next time you book a service, whether it is for dinner reservations, a hairdressing appointment or a massage, think about how it will affect your service provider if you just don’t turn up! Like me, they may be doing their best to offer you great service and products and they deserve to be treated with respect.

Rant over!

Kylie

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

